Notorious MN School District Sent This Rejection Letter to Mom of Gay Suicide Victim

Last night, I revealed in an exclusive report that the school board of Minnesota’s Anoka-Hennepin School District, notorious for an epidemic of anti-LGBT bullying and a rash of teen suicides, appointed Bryan Lindquist — a spokesman for an SPLC-certified anti-gay hate group — to the district’s new Anti-Bullying/Anti-Harassment Task Force.

I also noted that several prominent LGBT advocates and straight allies from the community had applied to serve on the task force, but were rejected. They included Tammy Aaberg, a local mom who became an advocate for LGBT rights and safe, LGBT-inclusive schools after her son Justin committed suicide in 2010 due to relentless anti-gay bullying.

Tammy has given me permission to publish the letter sent to her and the other rejected applicants by school board chair Tom Heidemann. Her address and the names of the task force’s student members have been redacted; hate group spokesman Bryan Lindquist’s name is listed on the second page, as one of the Anti-Bullying/Anti-Harassment Task Force’s community members.


One comment

  1. Pingback: WATCH: Anoka-Hennepin Board Chair Defends Naming Hate Group Leader to Anti-Bullying Task Force | John M. Becker

What do you think?